Local Sports

High School Football State Champs

Seven champions were crowned at the WIAA State Football Championships at Camp Randall Stadium, in Madison on Thursday, November 16 and Friday, November 17.   


Marquette (12-2) surged in the second half to post a 27-10 victory over previously undefeated Franklin (13-1) in the Division 1 championship game Friday evening, November 17. The Hilltoppers win their second State championship in as many State final appearances, and Franklin finishes runner-up in its fifth State experience.


Badger (14-0) won the battle of undefeated teams by escaping with a 34-33 victory over Waunakee (13-1) in the Division 2 championship game Friday afternoon, November 17.

The Warriors scored a touchdown to draw within a point at 34-33 with 40 seconds remaining in the game. Waunakee decided to go for the win with a two-point conversion, but the two-point pass attempt fell incomplete, preserving the one-point lead and victory for the Badgers.

The game featured the quick-strike capabilities of the Warriors and the ball-control running game of the Badgers. The average time of possession for the five Waunakee drives was one minute and 22 seconds. The powerful Badger ground game amassed 451 yards in the game to set a new Division 2 State championship record.

Badger wins the title in its first-ever appearance in the championship game, and Waunakee finishes runner-up in its 12th State finals experience.


In Division 3, Rice Lake (13-1) defeated Grafton (11-3) 28-20 in the championship game Friday, November 17. 

Grafton's Tommy Lutz was the game’s leading rusher with 147 yards on 30 carries and a pair of touchdowns for the Black Hawks. Brady Hilgart connected on 15-of-24 passes for 113 yards. His favorite target was Matthew Clemens with five receptions for 43 yards. Tyler Heinle led Grafton defensively with 10 tackles.

The Warriors win their third championship, participating in their eighth championship game. Grafton finishes runner-up in its fifth advance to the title game.


Lodi (14-0) capped an undefeated season with a 38-14 triumph over Luxemburg-Casco (13-1) in the Division 4 championship game Thursday evening, November 16.


Aquinas (13-1) won its third straight State championship in Division 5 with a 32-13 win over Wrightstown (11-3) in the final Thursday afternoon, November 16.


Stratford (13-1) edged Darlington (12-2) 10-7 with a 32-yard field goal on an untimed play to win the Division 6 State championship Thursday afternoon, November 16.


Edgar (13-1) rolled to the Division 7 title with a 36-6 victory over Black Hawk/Warren, Ill. (12-2) in the championship final Thursday, November 16.